Friday, July 12, 2019

Steve Hogan, Cian Donnelly, Dylan Donnelly and Declan Donnelly at Passage East for the annual Beat the Ferryman 600M Deep Water Swim in aid of Passage Hurling Club. Photo: Joe Evans.

Held in brilliant sunshine on Saturday week, the fourth Annual Beat the Ferryman 600 metres deep water swim from Ballyhack Co Wexford to Passage East was a resounding success with 160 swimmers from many parts of Ireland competing and hundreds of spectators watching from both sides of the river.
The event was organised by Passage Hurling Club as a fundraiser with The Community Centre in Passage the Race Headquarters. In addition there was a lovely family fun day in Passage and lots of food and refreshments etc and Music. The swimmers were brought to the start in Ballyhack by the Car Ferry. Lots of support on the river was provided by Lifeboats from
Dunmore and Fethard, Dunmore Coast Guard, River Rescue and Marine Search Services from Waterford and Carrick on Suir River Rescue and individual boatmen and kayak operators.
On shore there was great input by Gardai, Waterford City and County Council all the stewards from Passage Hurling Club and local Development Association, Estuary Men’s Shed, Dunmore East Fire Service, local Action Group (FLAG). A special thank you to Capt Darren Doyle Harbour Master and to the main sponsors Port Of Waterford Company, Scenic Passage East Car Ferry, Clem Jacob Hire, Walsh’s Bakehouse, EPA ,Waterford Academy of Music. Thanks to the residents of Ballyhack and Passage for their support and to all manning stalls and raffle etc.
The following are the Swim Results. First three out of water: 1st Nuala Carroll Slade Swimming Club Wexford eight minutes 18.5 seconds, 2nd Aoife Kennedy Waterford 8.26.6 3rd Kathryn Nolan Kilkenny.9.10. Category winners; Female Wet Suit above three in the same order, Male Wet Suit 1 James Commins Slade Swimming Club 9.19.7, 2 Conor Mc Donagh Dunmore East 9.37.6, 3 Olgerts Rudzitis Kilkenny Master’s 10.07.03 . Female Non Wet Suit 1 Julie -Ann Somers Dublin Swimming Club 11.29.3 2 Susan Cook Kilkenny Master’s11.34.0 3rd Órla Finnegan Carrick on Suir 12.06.0. Men Non Wet Suit 1 Neal O’Grady Wexford Master’s 9.12.6 2 Aidan Finnegan Carrick on Suir 13.06.7 3 Liam Walsh Tramore 13.11.7 Merit Award Aidan Brennan Kilkenny Master’s Swimming Club. First Passage Hurling Club member Eddie Lynch 10.19.7.

Comments are closed.

By Fintan Walsh
Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

More by this Journalist

New Zealand read Ireland like a book