Tuesday, August 06, 2019

Dan Shanahan is favourite to replace Paraic Fanning with Paddy Power.

On his departure last summer, McGrath stated that he would like to manage Waterford again. This year, he has established himself as a columnist with the Irish Examiner and analyst on the Sunday Game. Is he ready to commit for a second spell so soon?

Fergal Hartley
The former Déise skipper created an inter county environment in Ballygunner to steer them to their second Munster title. He spent two years with the under 21s and was part of Derek McGrath’s set-up in 2017. As founder of Hartley People, he has significant work commitments to consider.

Sean Power
The All Ireland winning minor and under 21 boss expressed an interest in the role last year. He is currently in charge of the Dunhill intermediate side.

Peter Queally
The Ballydurn man has accumulated experience at both inter county and club level. He has served as senior selector, managed the under 21s, led Passage to the promised land in 2013 and guided Abbeyside to their first county final in ten years.

Anthony Daly
The Kilmacud Crokes boss would instantly earn the respect of the dressing room but would prefer a second stint with his native county.

Brendan Cummins
Linked with the position last year, the two-time All Ireland winner has worked with Fintan O’Connor in Kerry for the past three seasons.

Donal Óg Cusack
The iconic keeper put his hat in the ring for the Cork vacancy last week but would be a popular choice with the Waterford players.

Dan Shanahan
The former Hurler of the Year served as a selector under Derek McGrath. He’s still banging in the goals in the Co. SHC for Lismore as a 42 year old. He’s favourite with Paddy Power.

Paddy Power Odds for next Déise boss

Dan Shanahan 3/1
Sean Power 5/1
Derek McGrath 5/1
Colm Bonnar 11/2
Pat Ryan 6/1
Brendan Cummins 6/1
Fergal Hartley 6/1
Michael Ryan (Waterford) 8/1
Donal Og Cusack 9/1
Pat Mulcahy 10/1
DJ Carey 12/1
Henry Shefflin 12/1
Jason Ryan 14/1
Michael Ryan (Tipperary) 16/1
Liam Cahill 16/1
Andy Moloney 16/1
John Allen 20/1
Eoin Murphy 20/1
Donal O’Grady 20/1
Peter Queally 20/1
Ken McGrath 20/1
Davy Fitzgerald 25/1
Anthony Daly 25/1
Martin Fogarty 25/1
Eddie Brennan 25/1
Paul Flynn 25/1

Comments are closed.

By Tomás McCarthy
Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

More by this Journalist

No Lotto winner – jackpot heads for €2.5m