Thursday, November 28, 2019

De La Salle College 0-12


Blackwater Community School 1-6

De La Salle’s Mikey Cummins get away from Blackwater’s Patrick Drislan during their Harty Cup match played at the Gold Coast Sports Pitch, Dungarvan. Photo Sean Byrne.

Dr. Harty Cup Round 3

On a wet Wednesday afternoon, De La Salle College made heavy weather of securing the local bragging rights and a place in the Harty Cup (Munster Colleges U-19 A Hurling) quarter finals. The winners were guilty of twelve wides (seven in second half) as Blackwater battled all the way to the final whistle.
During a scrappy second half, both teams were reduced to fourteen men following a melee in front of the De La Salle dugout. Around twenty players piled in before order was restored. Referee Thomas Walsh took decisive action as he flashed red cards to the two players who started the row Lee Hearne and Patrick Drislane.
The small, speedy and skilful Hearne was man of the match up to that point, shooting 0-4 for Salle from wing forward. The Roanmore man will miss out on the last eight on January 8. Full forward and free taker Mikey Cummins was Salle’s top scorer again with five points even though he missed five late chances to make them more comfortable. Tom Gallagher was club-tied with Ballygunner but Kilkenny minor captain James Aylward was a commanding presence at centre back while Sean Burke was busy at midfield.
Anyone who attended the Gold Coast on Wednesday got soaked to the skin. An orange weather warning meant that torrential rain battered the venue throughout the game. The pitch was firm underfoot and held up in the deluge. No other field in Waterford could have taken such punishment.

With the saturated players struggling to grip their wet hurleys, a low scoring spectacle unfolded. Eight minutes passed before Mikey Cummins hit the first point for De La Salle into the elements. Four more followed in quick succession. Cummins (free), Ethan Flynn, Lee Hearne and Jake Foley made it five nil after thirteen.
Blackwater net minder Fionn O’Gorman denied Cummins one on one and then stopped another goal bound drive from Eoin O’Brien. It kept them in the ball game. After the second save, the sliotar was worked up to Morgan Buckley who struck their first point with fifteen minutes on the stopwatch. Waterford minor Aaron Ryan, operating at centre back, added another from inside his own half. Foley and Hearne restored Salle’s five-point advantage before a Ryan free left it 7-3 at the break.
Both teams ran back to the dressing room complex. The subs stayed in the dugouts but there was no escaping the driving rain. It was just a little less wet.
De La Salle returned in a dry set of jerseys while their opponents stayed in their original all black attire. Foley was booked for a high tackle early in the second half. The first of four yellow cards. Sean Hickey reduced the arrears to three. Back to back points from Hearne, an absolute handful on the wing, steadied Salle (0-9 to 0-4).

Hearne and Drislane then got their marching orders for that off the ball scuffle. With fourteen minutes left, a long ball from Hickey hopped into the net as Oisin O’Gorman followed it in (0-10 to 1-5). Walsh checked with his umpires before he awarded the goal.
Two Cummins points in response was sufficient for De La Salle. The Passage front man also racked up five wides in that final quarter as Blackwater stayed within striking distance. Ryan Bennett was dragged down for a close range free in injury time when he soloed through the middle. Aaron Ryan blasted it towards goal but De La Salle dealt with it and can look forward to another Harty Cup quarter final in the New Year. Everyone else was glad to get back to their cars.

Scorers:- De La Salle College – Mikey Cummins 0-5 (3fs), Lee Hearne 0-4, Jake Foley 0-2, Ethan Flynn 0-1.
Blackwater Community School – Sean Hickey 1-1, Aaron Ryan 0-3 (2fs), Morgan Buckley 0-2.
DE LA SALLE COLLEGE: Mark Kilgannon (Ballygunner); Ciaran O’Neill (Passage), Sean O’Neill (Ballygunner), Alex Keane (De La Salle); Ronan Power (Ballygunner), James Aylward (Mooncoin), Aaron Wymberry (De La Salle); Sean Burke (Roanmore), Eoin O’Brien (Ballygunner); Sean O’Dwyer (Mooncoin), Ethan Flynn (Roanmore), Lee Hearne (Roanmore); Jake Foley (Ballygunner), Mikey Cummins (Passage), Reuben Halloran (De La Salle). Subs: Ruairi Fitzpatrick (Ballygunner) for Flynn, Adam Croke (Mooncoin) for O’Dwyer.
BLACKWATER COMMUNITY SCHOOL: Fionn O’Gorman (St Carthages); Patrick Drislane (Ballyduff Upper), Bernard Wright (Naomh Bríd), John Roche (St Carthages); Eoghan Lenihan (Cois Bhride), Aaron Ryan (Fourmilewater), Jordan Murphy (St Carthages); Jamie Power (Naomh Bríd), Sean Hickey (Ballyduff Upper); Morgan Buckley (St Olivers), Conor Hickey (Ballyduff Upper), Ben Shanahan Quinn (St Carthages); Cathal Murphy (Ballyduff Upper), Oisin O’Gorman (St Carthages), Ryan Bennett (St Carthages). Sub: Mikey Joe Curran (Naomh Bríd) for Shanahan Quinn.
Referee: Thomas Walsh.

Comments are closed.

By Tomás McCarthy
Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

Waterford U-20 managers for 2021 confirmed

More by this Journalist

James Rodriguez scores stunner as Everton draw