Thursday, December 12, 2019

Pictured at the launch of the Waterford GAA Awards at the Local Bar in Dungarvan were: back row: L to R: Pat Flynn, Paddy Joe Ryan, Neil Moore and Patricia Walsh. Front Row: Emer Barry, Helena Gough, Pat Grant, Sean Michael O’Regan. 

The eight surviving members of the 1959 All Ireland winning team will be special guests at the Local Bar Waterford GAA awards on Friday, January 10 in Lawlors Hotel.
Martin Óg Morrissey, Joe Harney, Mick Flannelly, Freddie O’Brien, Larry Guinan, Micky O’Connor, Tom Cunningham and Austin Flynn will all be in attendance to mark the 60th anniversary of Waterford’s replay victory over Kilkenny.
Legendary Nire and Déise full back Jim Wall will enter the Hall of Fame. He earned a Railway Cup medal with Munster in 1972 on the field of play, the first Waterford man to do so.

Ballygunner scoring sensation Dessie Hutchinson is a surprise omission for county hurler of the year. In his first season of senior hurling with the Gunners, he struck 4-27 from play in nine games.
Hutchinson wasn’t considered by the committee however as he didn’t line out for the Waterford hurlers in 2019. Chairman Pat Grant accepted that the criteria will have to be reviewed for next year.
2018 winner Pauric Mahony, who finished the club season with 89 points, has been shortlisted again alongside Waterford team mates Stephen Bennett, Shane McNulty and Callum Lyons.
Rathgormack have two players in the running for footballer of the year. Michael Curry captained the green and red to Conway Cup glory while Conor Murray kicked 3-11 from play. Ballinacourty defender Brian Looby and deadly St Saviours finisher Darragh Corcoran also made the final four.

Long-standing Kill committee member Hannah Power will receive the Jack Furlong award to recognise her service to the club and her work as Déise Draw co-ordinator. The Special Recognition to Culture award goes to June Fardey from Passage for her commitment to Scór over the past decade.
Eddie Cunningham will collect the Seamus O’Brien award. He was secretary of Tallow at the age of sixteen and held every position in the club. He went on to act as Western board treasurer and chairman and was Waterford minor hurling selector in 1992. He served the
association for sixty years.
Jim Joe Landers will receive the Special Achievement to Refereeing award. He rose to prominence both locally and nationally as he took charge of the 1977 National Football League final between Kerry and Dublin, the 1980 Munster hurling final between Limerick and Cork and the 1984 All Ireland hurling semi final between Offaly and Galway.
1969 Poc Fada winner Billy Tobin from Shamrocks will be honoured with a Special Achievement award. Dungarvan CBS are the schools’ recipients for their Munster under 15 C football triumph against St Michael’s Listowel.
Club of the Year: Ballygunner, Ballysaggart, Rathgormack, St Mary’s
Hurler of the Year: Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner), Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), Shane McNulty (De La Salle), Callum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)
Footballer of the Year: Michael Curry (Rathgormack), Conor Murray (Rathgormack), Brian Looby (Ballinacourty), Darragh Corcoran (St Saviours)
Young Hurler of the Year: Sean O’Neill (Ballygunner), Rory Furlong (Roanmore), Caolan Mac Craith (An Rinn), Reuben Halloran (De La Salle)
Young Footballer of the Year: Kyle Sloan (Gaultier), Colin Foley (Ballinacourty), Sean Boyce (The Nire), DJ Melia (Brickey Rangers)
Hall of Fame: Jim Wall (The Nire)
Jack Furlong Award: Hannah Power (Kill)
Seamus O’Brien Award: Eddie Cunningham (Tallow)
Special Recognition to Culture: June Fardey (Passage)
Special Achievement to Refereeing: Jim Joe Landers (Cappoquin)
Special Achievement: Billy Tobin (Shamrocks)
Schools Award: Dungarvan CBS
Special Merit: GAA World Games committee

Comments are closed.

By Tomás McCarthy
Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

More by this Journalist