Thursday, February 06, 2020

Championship sponsor, Gerry Kennedy, presents the cup to Ballydurn captain Richard Kirwan in Walsh Park after their 2019 Eastern Junior A Hurling final win. They will start favourites to retain their title in 2020. Photo: Maurice Hennebry.

The gradings and structures for the Eastern Hurling and Football Championships were finalised at a meeting in the Roanmore GAA Centre on Wednesday last with the line ups in all the championships very much in line with those of last year.
Despite losing a relegation playoff to St. Saviours last December St. Mollerans have retained their Intermediate status leaving the same eleven teams to contest the Intermediate Hurling Championship under the same system as last year.
The Intermediate Football Championship will consist of seven teams as was the case last year with St. Saviours having won promotion to senior and Ballyduff Lower moving up a grade as last year’s Junior champions.
The championships are set out as follows, all on a league system to decide knockout placings.

Intermediate Hurling – 11 teams
Group A 6 teams – Ballygunner, Ballyduff Lower, Dunhill, Portlaw, Erins Own, St. Saviours.
Group B – 5 teams – De La Salle, Butlerstown, Ferrybank, Fenor, St. Mollerans.
Top 2 teams in each Group seeded in quarter finals also third team in Group A in quarter final unseeded. Playoffs -3B V 6A, 4A V 5B, 4B V 5A.

Junior Hurling A – 8 teams – 1 Group
Ballydurn, Ballygunner, Dunhill, Kilmacthomas, Tramore, Mount Sion, Passage, Roanmore. Top 2 teams seeded in Semi-finals. Quarter finals – 3 V 6, 4 V 5.

Junior Hurling B – 7 teams – 1 Group
Clonea, De La Salle, Erins Own, Mount Sion, Naomh Pol, Passage, St. Mollerans. Top 2 seeded in semi-finals. Quarter Finals 3 V 6, 4 V 5.

Junior Hurling C – 7 teams – 1 Group –

Knockout games as in B Championship
Ballyduff Lower, Butlerstown, Ferrybank, Tramore, Portlaw, Roanmore, St. Saviours.

Intermediate Football – 7 teams – 1 Group.
Ballyduff Lower, Bunmahon, De La Salle, Kill, Tramore, Newtown, Portlaw. Top team in semi-final, Quarter finals – 2 V 7, 3 V 6, 4 V 5.

Junior A Football – 8 teams, 2 Groups of 4.
A – Bunmahon, Butlerstown, John Mitchells, St. Mollerans. B. Ferrybank, Mount Sion, Roanmore, Naomh Pol. Quarter Finals – Across 1 V 4, 2 V 3.

Junior C Football – 3 teams – Round Robin top 2 play final. Gaultier, Kill, Portlaw.

U-20 B Football. 6 teams – 2 Groups 3 Round Robin with top team in each Group in final.
Group A – St. Saviours, Clan na Gael, De La Salle., Group B – Ballyduff/Portlaw, Tramore, St. Mollerans.
On the question of the U-20 A Hurling Championships the Western Board have decided to run a divisional championship involving four teams, Abbeyside, St. Carthages, St. Olivers and St. Patricks/Naomh Brid. It is understood that the Eastern clubs – are seeking to have the County Championship run on an all county basis and a decision will be made by the County Board in that regard.

Comments are closed.

By Phil Fanning
Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

More by this Journalist