Wednesday, June 24, 2020


FINE Gael Councillor Damien Geoghegan has been elected as the new Mayor of Waterford City & County. At the Annual General Meeting of Waterford City & County Council this afternoon (June 24), held in WIT Arena to allow for physical distancing, Cllr Geoghegan was elected by 17 votes to 15 with support from Fianna Fáil, his Fine Gael colleagues nd independent councillors Seamus O Donnell, Joe Conway and Joe Kelly.

Sinn Fein, The Green Party, The Labour Party and Independent Councillors Davy Daniels, Mary Roche and Donal Barry voted for the other mayoral candidate, Conor D McGuinness, who was proposed by Cllr John Hearne.

In his first speech as Mayor, Cllr Geoghegan said that he was a proud Dungarvan man but “first and foremost, a proud Waterford man”.

He listed the delivery of 24/7 cardiac care, North Quays project and a Waterford University as his priorities in office.

Fianna Fáil Councillor Eddie Mulligan was elected Deputy Mayor.



Comments are closed.

Contact Journalist: darrens

More Waterford News

Tributes paid to veteran journalist

One new case in Waterford today

More by this Journalist

One new case in Waterford today

DARREN SKELTON: Phoenix in the flames