Thursday, December 16, 2021

WIT’s Billy Nolan is one of a host of Waterford senior panelists who look set to play in the returning Fitzgibbon Cup. Photo: Inpho.

The Fitzgibbon Cup returns to the GAA calendar along with all the other third level colleges competitions for 2021 having been side lined since the arrival of Covid on the scene. The panels of players from the various colleges have been nominated and while Waterford players appear to be fewer than in other years in the main colleges such is not the case in WIT where five members of the present Waterford senior panel in training, including Shane Bennett, are listed.

The full list of Waterford club players in the WIT panel is as follows: Billy Nolan and Conor Ryan (Roanmore), Ciaran Kirwan (Kill), Tom Barron (Fourmilewater), Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart), Alan Kirwan (Mount Sion), Harry Ruddle (Ballygunner), Gavin Fives (Tourin), Mairtin De Paor (Clonea), Padraig Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty), Jack Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), Niall O’Sullivan and Ryan Tierney (Ferrybank), Eoin McGrath (Tallow).


Those listed as panellists for other colleges are:

Mary I. Limerick – Cian Wadding (Roanmore), Cormac Power (Ballygunner), P. J. Fanning (Mount Sion), Oisin O’Gorman (Lismore).

U.C.C. – Iarlaith Daly (Lismore), Mick Devine (Modeligo), Cormac O’Mahony (Ballygunner).

U.C.D. – Liam O’Brien (Ballinameela). Maynooth – James Kiely (Dungarvan),

University of Limerick – Billy Power (Clonea), Michael Kiely and Mark Twomey (Abbeyside).

Munster Technological University Cork Campus (Formerly Cork I.T.) – Conor Berry (Ballygunner)

I.T. Carlow – Jack O’Donnell (Kilgobinet).

Defending champions U.C.C. appear to have a powerful  line up with Cork senior players Niall O’Leary, Rob Downey, Jack O’Connor, Shane Barrett, Ger Mellerick, and Daire Connery on board as well as Mark Kehoe (Tipperary), Conor Boylan (Limerick) and Iarlaith Daly.

The NUI Galway panel is made up of almost all Galway players from their Minor All Ireland wining sides of recent years including outstanding seniors such as Evan Niland and Brian Concannon with Limerick’s Cian Lynch thrown in for good measure. Likewise, Galway Mayo I.T. list almost all Galway players on their panel.

D.C.U. appear to be the strongest of the Dublin colleges with a big representation of Dublin panellists while I.T. Carlow draw on a big Kilkenny/Wexford pool of players including Eoin Cody and Cathal Dunbar as well as some Laois Seniors.

As always, the Fitzgibbon Cup is a competition to look forward to and an opportunity for aspiring youngsters to impress their county selectors.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

Another round robin ends on the rocks

More by this Journalist