Friday, May 20, 2022

It was a great night for Wildcats, past and present and Waterford basketball at the Basketball Ireland Annual Awards and Hall of Fame ceremony at the Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire on Saturday night last .

Sarah Hickey (below) picked up the Super League Young Player of the Year award.

Sarah Hickey of WIT Waterford Wildcats is presented with the Women’s Super League Young Player of the Year award by Basketball Ireland Women’s National League Committee Secretary Maura O’Malley. Photos: Sam Barnes/Sportsfile.

John Hayes (below) received a President’s Lifetime Achievement Award for his brilliant service to basketball for decades.

John Hayes, right, is presented with his 2022 President’s Lifetime Achievement Award by Basketball Ireland President PJ Reidyat the Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire. 

Tommy O’Mahony (represented by Jillian Hayes was named Girls School Coach of the Year for his achievements with the Mercy.

WIT Waterford Wildcats assistant coach Jillian Hayes, right, collects the Girls School Coach of the Year award from Chair of the Post Primary Schools Committee, Marie O’Toole, on behalf of Mercy Secondary School Waterford coach Tommy O’Mahony. 

Two former Wildcats, Michelle Aspell and Caroline Forde were also inducted into the Hall of Fame, along with Tom Wilkinson and Noel Keating.



Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

A day to savour in remembering Roy

Minor Hurling Championship Dates Announced

More by this Journalist

Walsh Park work to start in September