Monday, June 20, 2022

AT the AGM of the Metropolitan District of Waterford City and Council Council, Cllr. Seamus Ryan’s term came to an end. Receiving a standing ovation from all Councillors present, he was applauded for the dignity with which he held the office of Mayor through the past year.

A successor has been elected, and with 9 cast votes to Cllr. Jason Murphy to 7 cast votes for Cllr. Jim Griffin, the new Mayor of the Metropolitan Council is Fianna Fáil’s Cllr. Jason Murphy.

The election was finalised in the second round, with the first round seeing the votes split three ways between Cllr. Donal Barry, Cllr. Jason Murphy, and Cllr. Jim Griffin.

In his acceptance speech, Jason acknowledged the enormous role his parents had in shaping his journey. Jason was elected first in 2014, and retained his seat in 2019.

He said this evening marked a ‘great show of democracy,’ and he thanked those who contested the role because they have contributed to a fair and just election in local government.
His pledge for the year ahead is to work with all parties for the betterment of Waterford city.

Cllr Murphy was proposed by Cllr Eddie Mulligan and seconded by Cllr Joe Conway.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford News

Johnny O’Grady: Stepping into the breach

More by this Journalist

Johnny O’Grady: Stepping into the breach