Thursday, September 08, 2022

Dessie Hutchinson celebrates after helping Waterford to National Hurling League Final success over Cork in Thurles back in April. Photo: Inpho.

The PwC All-Star Hurling nominations 2022 were announced this morning and Waterford have one nomination in the shape of Ballygunner’s Dessie Hutchinson.

The Ballygunner sharpshooter excelled in Waterford’s run to victory in the National Hurling League and he backed that up with 2-14 from play in the four Munster Senior Hurling Championship group games.

Not surprisingly it’s three in a row All-Ireland Champions Limerick who lead the way with 12 nominations.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny have eight players nominated, the same number as both beaten semi-finalists Galway and Clare.

Cork have three players recognised, Wexford two and one each for Tipperary, Waterford, Dublin and Westmeath.

John Kiely’s Limerick squad won a record 12 hurling All Stars last year.

Westmeath centre-forward Killian Doyle is the first hurling nominee from the Lake County since 1986, when David Kilcoyne won their first and only All-Star to date.

The overall PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year and Young Hurler of the Year titles are voted on exclusively by the inter-county players themselves. Kilkenny’s ever-green genius TJ Reid is in the three-man shortlist with Limerick’s defensive inspirations Barry Nash and Diarmaid Byrnes for company.
Current holder Eoin Cody is again eligible for the Young Hurler award and is named along with teammate Mikey Butler and Cork’s Ciarán Joyce.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “Today is a special moment for the 45 hurlers who have been successfully shortlisted for a PwC All-Star in 2022 and an achievement that will be proudly shared by their families and clubs.
“Seeing people back in person at matches this year added to the excitement and as always, our hurling competitions rose to the occasion with no shortage of highlights to illuminate the season.
“To be recognised for your contribution to those great games is something special as we salute the best of the best from the season, and I also want to congratulate TJ, Diarmaid and Barry for their additional honour in being nominated as PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year and to Mikey, Ciarán and Eoin nominated for PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year.”

Tom Parsons, GPA CEO, added: “Congratulations to each and every player who contributed to such a memorable year for hurling. As Limerick made their own piece of history, completing a three-in-a-row, many players put in performances which made them worthy to be considered for PwC All-Stars.
“To the 45 players who have made the shortlist, well done. It is only right that your individual performances are being recognised with these nominations.
“To our PwC Hurler of the Year and PwC Young Hurler of the Year nominees a special word of congratulations too, and to PwC, thank you for your ongoing support for inter-county players.”

Feargal O’Rourke, Managing Partner, PwC, said: “From everyone at PwC, I would like to extend sincere congratulations to the 45 hurlers announced as PwC All-Star nominees and also to those shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler and Young Hurler of the Year. You each displayed outstanding individual and team performances in yet another exhilarating championship. These nominations recognise your talent and commitment and are thoroughly deserved.”

The PwC All-Stars will be presented at a black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, October 28 shown live on RTE tv. The hurling team will be announced live on the night with the football team being released publicly 24 hours earlier.

PwC All-Stars Hurling Nominations 2022

Éanna Murphy (Galway)
Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)
Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

Seán Finn (Limerick)
Barry Nash (Limerick)
Mike Casey (Limerick)
Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
Declan Hannon (Limerick)
Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)
Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny)
Richie Reid (Kilkenny)
Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)
Paul Flanagan (Clare)
John Conlon (Clare)
Diarmuid Ryan (Clare)
David McInerney (Clare)
Daithí Burke (Galway)
Fintan Burke (Galway)
Pádraic Mannion (Galway)
Ciarán Joyce (Cork)
Damien Reck (Wexford)

David Fitzgerald Clare)
Ryan Taylor (Clare)
Tom Monaghan (Galway)
Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)
William O’Donoghue (Limerick)
Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny)

Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)
Kyle Hayes (Limerick)
Tom Morrissey (Limerick)
Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
Séamus Flanagan (Limerick)
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)
Conor Whelan (Galway)
Cathal Mannion (Galway)
Joseph Cooney (Galway)
Tony Kelly (Clare)
Shane O’Donnell (Clare)
Robbie O’Flynn (Cork)
Dessie Hutchinson (Waterford)
Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
Lee Chin (Wexford)
Dónal Burke (Dublin)
Killian Doyle (Westmeath)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick)
Barry Nash (Limerick)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Nominees
Ciarán Joyce (Cork)
Mikey Butler (Kilkenny)
Eoin Cody (Kilkenny).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

Power picked for inaugural Hero Cup

Two Camogie All-Stars for Waterford

As You Were at 96th Eastern Convention

More by this Journalist

Power picked for inaugural Hero Cup

Two Camogie All-Stars for Waterford