Tuesday, December 06, 2022

The Munster Schools U-18 team.

Munster have ended a ten-year wait as they lifted the FAI Schools Under 18 Boys’ Interprovincial Tournament which will take place in the AUL Complex, Clonshaugh over the course of last weekend where Waterford football was well represented in the brilliant success.
Seven players that play with Waterford FC were part of the squad that also includes Brian Nolan, who is a teacher at Mount Sion CBS as part of the Munster management team, and on Sunday they were celebrating a fantastic triumph.
Five players started in the opening game against Leinster on Friday where a lone goal from Cobh Ramblers player Rhys Kelly Noonan after a brilliant AJ Bowman free-kick from 20 minutes proved to be the difference at the final whistle. Bowman was joined in the starting line-up by fellow Waterford players captain Ronan Mansfield, Dara Kavanagh, Mikey Carroll and Calum Flynn.
In the second game on Saturday, Munster faced Connacht in a game that was highly competitive from start to finish with the contest ending in stalemate. The Munster goal came from the skipper Ronan Mansfield, which put his side in a great position for the final game against Ulster.
Munster knew that they needed a win to lift the title for the first time in ten years and they proved too strong for their opponents. Ronan Mansfield opened the scoring with stunning overhead kick, and Calum Flynn was also on target with the third goal. Not since 2012 had Munster won it so this was a brilliant achievement and a brilliant well done to all involved.

MUNSTER: Liam Murray (Skibbereen Community School), Romeo Akachukwu, Callum Flynn, Dara Kavanagh, Mikey Carroll (De La Salle College, Waterford), Rhys Kelly Noonan (Coláiste Muire, Crosshaven), Josh Fitzpatrick (Douglas Community School), Daniel Leonard, Patryk Swieczka-Andrzejczak (Glanmire Community College), Sam Bailey (Clonakilty Community College), Matthew Kiernan (St. Francis College, Rochestown), Ronan Mansfield (Blackwater Community School), AJ Bowman (St. Declan’s Community College, Kilmacthomas), Eanna Fitzgerald (Coláiste An Chroí Naofa, Carraig Na Bedear), Michael Dike (Thomond Community College), Robbie Lynch (Hazelwood College, Limerick)
Management: Billy Woods (Glanmire Community College), Brian Nolan (Mount Sion CBS, Waterford), Kevin Condon (Coláiste Dun Íascaigh, Cahir), David Browne (Physio).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

Home win is a must for Déise footballers

More by this Journalist

Quitirna departs as Conn-Clarke arrives