Tuesday, May 23, 2023

Waterford’s Jayson Molumby will join up with Stephen Kenny’s Irish squad in Bristol. Photo: Inpho.

Republic of Ireland manager Stephen Kenny has included Waterford native Jayson Molumby in his 22-man squad for a four-day training camp in at the Robins High Performance Centre in Bristol next week ahead of the upcoming UEFA EURO 2024 qualifiers in June.
Ireland are set to face Greece on Friday, June 16, in Athens and Gibraltar on Monday, June 19, at the Aviva Stadium as part of their UEFA EURO 2024 qualifying campaign which began with a narrow 1-0 defeat against France in March.
Kenny has named a 22-man squad comprised of players from the EFL and the League of Ireland for the training camp at Bristol City’s training ground to begin preparations for those two qualifiers in June with the League of Ireland represented by goalkeeping duo James Talbot and Brian Maher.
Shamrock Rovers winger Neil Farrugia is also included in Kenny’s squad as is Tom Cannon, who enjoyed an impressive loan spell at Preston North End from Everton, Hull City defender Sean McLoughlin, and Millwall defender Danny McNamara.
Jeff Hendrick and Alan Browne will miss the four-day training camp as they recover from injury, but are expected to be in contention for the Greece and Gibraltar matches in June with Andrew Omobamidele, Callum Robinson and Seamus Coleman have all been ruled out of the upcoming qualifiers through injury.
“The six-week break between the end of the Championship and our qualifier in Greece is something we have to navigate and make sure our preparations are planned well,” said Stephen Kenny.
“This training camp in Bristol for four days is essential before we travel to Turkey on June 5th for nine days ahead of our visit to Athens and we’re looking forward to a good four days training and some sharp sessions.”

Squad: Max O’Leary (Bristol City), James Talbot (Bohemians), Brian Maher (Derry City); Danny McNamara (Millwall), Callum O’Dowda (Cardiff City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Ryan Manning (Swansea City), John Egan (Sheffield United), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Sean McLaughlin (Hull City); Jayson Molumby (West Bromwich Albion), Josh Cullen (Burnley), Will Smallbone (Southampton), Mark Sykes (Bristol City), Neil Farrugia (Shamrock Rovers), Jason Knight (Derby County); Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United), Tom Cannon (Everton), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Obafemi (Burnley), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic).

Contact Newsdesk: 051 874951

More Waterford Sport

Grand Slam finish for Waterpark RFC U-10s

More by this Journalist

Davy’s sweeper keeper pays off in Thurles