Diary From A Social Distance

Diary From A Social Distance: June 23-29

  Tuesday, June 23, 6:25pm: I bring our canine duo, Buddy and Zippy, off for their evening walk after another day’s work at the home office draws to a close. Two horses trot from one side of a nearby paddock...

Read More

Diary from a Social Distance: June 16-June 22

Tuesday, June 16, 10:11am: The Irish Independent reports that “up to 1.7 million people are now wearing face masks –...

Monday, 22/06/20 - 5:41pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: June 9 – June 15

Tuesday, June 9, 3:57pm: Herself and myself return to the car having walked to Baylough, above The Vee in the...

Tuesday, 16/06/20 - 11:52am Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: June 2 – June 8

Tuesday, June 2, 10:51pm: Publication day ends with another anti-social run of mine, taking in 4.8 kilometres (three miles) of...

Tuesday, 09/06/20 - 12:06pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: May 26-June 1

A weekly blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Tuesday, May 26, 4:52pm: As I work on...

Monday, 01/06/20 - 1:44am Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: May 19-25

A weekly blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Tuesday, May 19, 1:16pm: The oddity of not...

Tuesday, 26/05/20 - 9:34pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: May 12 to May 18

Tuesday, May 12, 11:52pm: I complete another 5k run on my loop in 28 minutes flat, passing a total of...

Saturday, 23/05/20 - 12:35pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: Sunday, May 17

The final daily blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office, which he began filing on Monday, March...

Monday, 18/05/20 - 5:45pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: Saturday, May 16

A daily blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Saturday, May 16, 9:03am: I surprise myself by...

Sunday, 17/05/20 - 1:59pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: Friday, May 15

A daily blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Friday, May 15, 9:57am: I’ve got Zippy and...

Saturday, 16/05/20 - 2:56pm Read More

Views

DARREN SKELTON: The keys to the Kingdom

The View from the Blue as it appeared in this week’s edition. BACK in 2017, I remember sitting down in the News & Star offices with the editor of the paper and one of the group managers. I asked them...

Read More

CATHERINE DREA: First World Problems

  As I See It: Catherine Drea’s fortnightly column as published in the Waterford News & Star   BEING in...

Tuesday, 17/11/20 - 12:00pm Read More

PHOENIX: The effort after the effort!

The Phoenix opinion column, which has been running in the Waterford News & Star for more than 30 years, as...

Tuesday, 17/11/20 - 11:53am Read More

EDITORIAL: Regeneration of Ireland’s oldest city

  THE announcement of Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Darragh O’Brien, from the cobbles of the courtyard at...

Tuesday, 17/11/20 - 11:36am Read More

View from the Green Room: Poet Frank Farrelly’s pot boiler

  REVIEW: Imagine Arts Festival & Waterford Writers Weekend Online   EX-MOUNT Sion teacher Frank Farrelly launched his first book...

Tuesday, 10/11/20 - 12:48pm Read More

FR LIAM POWER: Who are we to judge?

  A Question of Faith, Fr Liam Power’s Fortnightly Column   POPE Francis’ recent remarks on support for civil unions...

Tuesday, 10/11/20 - 12:43pm Read More

Time Out With Timmy: Were you there?

Timmy Ryan’s fortnightly column for the Waterford News & Star   I HATE to say it, but I have a...

Tuesday, 10/11/20 - 12:37pm Read More

Editorial: A win for democracy

  DEMOCRACY is only as strong and healthy as we, the people, keep it. And the only true way of...

Tuesday, 10/11/20 - 12:28pm Read More

PHOENIX: Redemption?

  The Phoenix opinion column, which has been running in the Waterford News & Star for more than 30 years,...

Tuesday, 10/11/20 - 12:20pm Read More

Phoenix: The Level 5 state of play

THE Level 5 lockdown has provided ample opportunity for walking although the five-kilometre limit is completely arbitrary and without any...

Friday, 06/11/20 - 3:54pm Read More