Diary From A Social Distance

Diary From A Social Distance: June 23-29

  Tuesday, June 23, 6:25pm: I bring our canine duo, Buddy and Zippy, off for their evening walk after another day’s work at the home office draws to a close. Two horses trot from one side of a nearby paddock...

Read More

Diary from a Social Distance: June 16-June 22

Tuesday, June 16, 10:11am: The Irish Independent reports that “up to 1.7 million people are now wearing face masks –...

Monday, 22/06/20 - 5:41pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: June 9 – June 15

Tuesday, June 9, 3:57pm: Herself and myself return to the car having walked to Baylough, above The Vee in the...

Tuesday, 16/06/20 - 11:52am Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: June 2 – June 8

Tuesday, June 2, 10:51pm: Publication day ends with another anti-social run of mine, taking in 4.8 kilometres (three miles) of...

Tuesday, 09/06/20 - 12:06pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: May 26-June 1

A weekly blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Tuesday, May 26, 4:52pm: As I work on...

Monday, 01/06/20 - 1:44am Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: May 19-25

A weekly blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Tuesday, May 19, 1:16pm: The oddity of not...

Tuesday, 26/05/20 - 9:34pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: May 12 to May 18

Tuesday, May 12, 11:52pm: I complete another 5k run on my loop in 28 minutes flat, passing a total of...

Saturday, 23/05/20 - 12:35pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: Sunday, May 17

The final daily blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office, which he began filing on Monday, March...

Monday, 18/05/20 - 5:45pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: Saturday, May 16

A daily blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Saturday, May 16, 9:03am: I surprise myself by...

Sunday, 17/05/20 - 1:59pm Read More

Diary From A Social Distance: Friday, May 15

A daily blog by Deputy Editor Dermot Keyes from his #stayathome office Friday, May 15, 9:57am: I’ve got Zippy and...

Saturday, 16/05/20 - 2:56pm Read More

Views

View from the Green Room: Jack’s reminder of the good times

Jack Cunningham Productions Online: Broadway Bites Back IT’S good to get reminders of just how strong musical talent still is in Waterford. And young Jack Cunningham, current Green Room Award Winner as choreographer for Chicago, is currently studying professional dance...

Read More

Phoenix: Political Promises?

  The Phoenix opinion column, which has been running in the Waterford News & Star for more than 30 years,...

Tuesday, 02/03/21 - 12:40pm Read More

Time Out with Timmy: Hall of Shame

Timmy Ryan’s weekly column for the Waterford News & Star SO the latest class of “rock n roll” nominees has...

Tuesday, 02/03/21 - 12:28pm Read More

EDITORIAL: Solas – 10 years of light, hope and comfort

  TEN years ago, the Solas Cancer Support Centre opened its doors following a substantial community fundraising effort. In the...

Tuesday, 02/03/21 - 12:23pm Read More

Passengers on a lost bus

REMEMBER when we used to go on holidays and we’d be on a bus to our hotels but wouldn’t have...

Thursday, 25/02/21 - 4:16pm Read More

View from the Green Room: So… just what did Robinson Crusoe give up for Lent?

  Tramore: my laptop   I WOKE up on Wednesday and pondered the annual question: what do you give up...

Tuesday, 23/02/21 - 11:53am Read More

Fr Liam Power: Proposed ‘Dying with Dignity Bill’ seriously flawed

  A Question of Faith, Fr Liam Power’s Fortnightly Column   THE Oireachtas Committee on Justice is giving consideration to...

Tuesday, 23/02/21 - 11:39am Read More

PHOENIX: Do we know where we’re going to?

  The Phoenix opinion column, which has been running in the Waterford News & Star for more than 30 years,...

Tuesday, 23/02/21 - 11:35am Read More

Catherine Drea: The last lap

  As I See It: Catherine Drea’s fortnightly column as published in the Waterford News & Star   FOR the...

Tuesday, 23/02/21 - 11:32am Read More

EDITORIAL: We should not be firefighting Covid ‘surprises’

  ON Friday night at 9.11pm, seven weeks into our third lockdown, a press release was issued from the Department...

Tuesday, 23/02/21 - 11:24am Read More